Chapelle du Chatelard

  • Chapelle du Chatelard
  • Chapelle du Chatelard 2
  • Chapelle du Chatelard 3
Chapelle du ChatelardChapelle du Chatelard 2Chapelle du Chatelard 3
Pretty little chapel at the top of Le Chatelard overlooking the village of Bellevaux.
Letters between Abbot Sache (Bellevaux priest from 1833 to 1847) and Monseigneur Rey (then Bishop of Annecy) discuss the planning of a chapel to overlook the valley from the top of Le Châtelard in 1841. However, the townspeople of Vallon and Bellevaux couldn't agree as both wanted the chapel to stand on their land. A battle ensued. Legend has it that an angry Bellevaux local kicked the priest's bottom. Divine retribution saw him lose the use of his leg.
No sooner than 40 years later, in 1880, Jean Cornier from L'Ermont built this little chapel dedicated to Our Lady of Purgatory.
PĂ©riode d'ouvertureAll year round: open daily.
General
  • Main facilities :
    • Historic site and monument
Equipment & Services
  • Religious patrimony :
    • Religious heritage
    • Chapel
Make the most of Le Châtelard's treasure hunt to explore the chapel and its surroundings: the crucifix, old mills etc. Brochure available from the Bella Vallis treetop adventure park in summer.

Situation map


Walk up to the chapel from the village square or drive from L'Ermont.
Free of charge
Contact
Le Chatelard
74470
Bellevaux
Phone : +33 4 50 73 70 12
We also suggest...
Accessibility
Share :
Accessibility
Share :